one simple dish later…

 

One simple butter chicken later...

AAAARRRRGGGGHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

When people (and by *people* I mean ME) say they don’t have time to cook, generally I find they are scoffed, ridiculed or judged.  I am constantly being told of the importance of home-cooked meals both from an economical & healthful standpoint. I get it – I get it!!  And I do it – but neither of those is the primary reason why: Mainly it’s because I love my gang and like hanging out with them, especially at supper. It is loud, messy (surprised?), funny and usually ends with one of the dogs managing to knock something off the table for their own hungry purposes (um, accidentally on purpose springs to mind) We run around to sports, do homework, run errands but it’s the sit down meals that really make it ROCK!

And when I say I don’t always have time to cook, what I meant was I don’t always have time to cleanup afterwords. This, by the way, was ONE FLIPPIN dish: a simple Butter Chicken with rice. That’s it. But everytime I cook, this is what happens. I could be making a peanut butter sandwich (and if you read my previous post, you’ll know I tend to make um, just a few of these) and my kitchen would pretty much look exactly the same. Why can’t they make cookbooks that explain how to do the cleaning too. The only thing that makes it worthwhile is that as soon as dishes from table (yes, the boys do this) they scramble off to hang with their dad in the basement and I can blast the music and clean. And I am sorry to have to do this, but I could not not insert it – BUT – If Music Be The Food Of Love Then Play On

2 Comments

Filed under Un-burnt Food

2 responses to “one simple dish later…

  1. My kitchen looks like that when my wife (nanny) isn’t there to follow me around and clean up after me. Every great masterpiece involves some creative mess. Great song. Anyways, if you don’t want to clean it up, just say you have to go do something an disappear. After a while, the hubs will get the picture.

  2. Kat

    OMGosh!!! Looks like my kitchen! I love it! haha!!!

Leave a Reply

