52pickup

As a kid, I played a lot of cards.  My parents split up when I was 7 and my mom’s social life consisted of *Fun Things That Can Be Done From Home*.  Enter Card Night.  I learned to rock  rummie, crazy eights and euchre. We’d set ourselves up: me with the  matching wooden chips and dip bowl, and my mom with her black coffee and over-sized glass ashtray (this was the seventies, no judging).

Fast forward 30-plus years and I am still crushing on chips and dip.  And now I’m the one with the coffee.   And I am participating in a blog about healthy lifestyles that uses a deck of cards as  it’s platform.  (Wow, I am never sure if I am using the word *ironic* properly (thanks, Alanis!!) but have no doubt that there is some of that here).

Regardless, I am proud (and nervous) to be part of  an awesome new project.  So,I am donating today’s blog to it:

Theresa Albert has written a new book, Ace Your Health and I have been selected to be one of the gang that gets to contribute to her blog. I will chronicle my journey in 52 weekly segments.  Her passion and enthusiasm are absolutely contagious and I am thrilled to be a part of this project.  The premise of the book is to adopt small healthy choices gradually and she uses the idea of a deck of cards to highlight these ideas.  Using the cards is a novel fun way to approach some sometimes not so fun stuff  ( I believe there is a chapter on caffeine reduction I will be avoiding).

I suspect I will be pegged the reluctant one .  Even so, Theresa already has me hooked on hemp and chia (Warning: you *may* want to invest heavily in dental floss before you begin)! Check out her site and  book – Both are (organically,pesticide-free , seasonally) jam-packed with tons of awesome  info!!

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “52pickup

  1. Pam (writewrds)

    Congratulations!

    I grew up with chips, dip, cards and cigarette smoke too.
    I look forward to reading your posts (especially since I need all the help and inspiration I can get)!

    • suzieswapper

      Thanks Pam!! So funny to share the smoky,greasy card memories with someone!! Stick around, we can try to motivate each other,I can REALLY use it!

  2. Fantastic! I look forward to reading about your journey 🙂

    • suzieswapper

      Thanks Karen, look forward to seeing you tomorrow night! I’ll be the one with green stuff stuck in my teeth (darn hemp!!)

  3. That’s awesome news! Can’t wait to read more.

  4. Oh way to go. Should be both exciting and rewarding to be a part of. Can’t wait to read all about it!
    Suzie

  5. Cindy Wolfe

    I’m intrigued…curious to see how balancing chia and hemp with chips and dip can be done! Really looking forward to reading more!

  6. jennifer

    Congratulations. You know you CAN do it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

